Posted on

tumblr_m208qrjEug1rpvtqyo1_r1_400

We’ve all done it…

“Hey, How are you?”

“Fine.” 

It’s an acceptable response, especially when you see someone in passing or if you just have no desire to share what’s going on with you. But is it true?

And if it isn’t, then who, what, when?

Who do you tell what you’re really going through to? What will it take for you to share what’s going on with you or to start changing your situation? When do you stop faking like things are ok?

Have you ever seen someone and you can look at them and tell things aren’t ok, they look stressed, sad, angry. Their face, their body language, their tone of voice tells you everything isn’t ok even if they tell you it is.

I remember a girl I was cool with who slowly just seemed to be less and less of herself and I recall asking her if she was ok a few times and then offering my ear if she ever needed it but not wanting to keep pressing the issue. I figured, if she trusted me or if she wanted to tell me, she would, but I wanted her to know the invitation was there and always open.

It was later discovered what was going on with her, and luckily it wasn’t anything too terrible, but for so many others it is. I know I have blown people off before with the “I’m fine” answer when I surely wasn’t.

It makes me sad to think about all the people of all ages who have this thing, this issue, this lie, this feeling that they just want to get rid of or fix but they go on each day, carrying it around and hiding it.

“I’ve got some issues that nobody can see
And all of these emotions are pouring out of me
I bring them to the light for you
It’s only right
This is the soundtrack to my life” -Kid Cudi

Life is too short and offers too many wonderful things, relationships, people, and experiences to go through every day not fully enjoying them. Everyone has their ‘stuff’ they’ve got to deal with, I mean that’s to be expected. The key, however, is to deal with it. Not carry it around, hide it, fight it, but talk about it, write it out, sing it, scream, get professional help, call a friend, write a letter, something. Quit faking the funk and live an authentic live. You deserve it.

Leave a Comment

