Posted on

Pride

doonethingPride is one of those things that I never quite understood.

I knew people told me at times that they were proud of me.

I just wasn’t sure if I was allowed to be proud of myself.

I knew pride was what the disfigured model represented in that Brad Pitt movie ‘seven’.

Now however, I understand the difference. I think…

‘Good’ pride: pride in your actions, pride in doing good for others, making your family proud. Doing things that make you feel good, that are productive, constructive, and helpful.

‘Bad’ pride: pride that comes as a result of a lack of or a false humility or trying to make someone seem less than, boasting, not giving credit, or ‘excess love of one’s own excellence.’

Correct me if I’m wrong. I’m still learning.

MV5BMTYzMDA1MDU4MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDIzMzE2MQ@@._V1._SX500_SY500_Remember this cartoon?

Their family was proud, their name was literally PROUD.

Like the song asks, “What have you done today to make you feel proud?”

Leave a Comment

