Posted on

Warning Signs

My phone broke.The geek squad buried it.

I loved my phone and I miss it.

I got a new phone.

image

A few minutes ago I was looking something up online and it died. It didn’t break, the battery just ran out.
Did I know that was coming? Yup. Did it warn me that it was getting ready to run out of power? Yup. Did I ignore it? Yup. This phone probably warned me 6 times that the battery was dying before it finally cut off.

Do you know how many times I get warnings that something is dying or no good, yet I either ignore it or try to save it? A lot of things; friendships, batteries, a hairstyle, my hammer pants (I KNEW they’d come back around, oh well).

What I think I’ve learned is this; you can’t save or change someone who WANTS to stay the same. And you will only be frustrated when you want something for someone more than they want it for themselves.

I have had to let die a couple of jobs, tasks, and friendships. I wish them well, but I can no longer ignore the warnings and suffer.
image

image

2 responses to “Warning Signs

  1. Mattie ⋅

    You are so right about this. I am such a caring person i use to get to the point where i would be stressing myself out to help people with the same situation over and over again. I had finally reached a point where i had enough and told them i wish you the best of luck in life but i can’t keep helping you if don’t want to put in the effort to try to change your situation. It was a very hard thing for me to do but at the end of the day i felt like 10 pounds was lifted off my shoulders.

  2. Selina ⋅

    this is so relevant to my life. it’s hard, but it’s got to be done.

Leave a Comment

